Teen Driver Safety
Posted on behalf of Gordon & Partners on Feb 19, 2013 in Auto Accidents
Motor vehicle accidents are number one cause of death for 15- to 20- year olds, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
In 2010, nearly 2,000 young drivers lost their lives in auto accidents. Per mile, teen motorists are in more crashes than any other age group. Parents and guardians can help teenagers stay safe by following Florida’s graduated driver licensing and setting driving standards.
If you or someone you love has been injured by the negligent actions of another driver, our attorneys believe that you may be eligible to receive compensation for all of your losses, damages and injuries sustained from the accident.
For more information, complete the “Free Case Review” on this page – It’s 100% FREE!
Florida’s Graduated Driver Licensing
Immaturity and lack of experience are two major factors that contribute to fatalities in teen driver crashes. These factors have led the NHTSA to advise all states to implement a graduated driver licensing system (GDL). A GDL system eases teenagers into driving by controlling their exposures. Florida’s graduated driver licensing system has been in effect since 1996.
The following requirements for Florida’s teen driver are listed below:
Learner’s Permit Requirements
- Teenagers must be at least 15-years- old to apply for a learner’s license.
- All teen drivers must show proof that they completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course or they must have a license from another state, country or jurisdiction.
- A parental consent form has to be signed in front of a driver license examiner or notarized if parent or guardian will not be present.
- Teens must provide documents to establish identity, proof of social security number (if applicable) and proof of residential address.
- Teens must pass a written test on road rules and road signs.
- Teenagers have to pass a vision test.
- Teens are required to pass a hearing test.
- Teenagers can only drive during the day for the first three months and until 10 p.m. thereafter, they always have to be accompanied by a driver who is at least 21 years old and sitting in the front passenger seat.
Intermediate License (16- to 17-year olds) Requirements
- Teenagers have to be a least 16-years-old and have had a learner’s permit for a year without any traffic convictions.
- Teens must have a parent or guardian certification that they have at least 50 hours of driving experience, a minimum of 10 hours of nighttime driving.
- Teens must pass the driving test.
- Teens that are 16-years-old can only drive between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m., unless accompanied by a licensed driver over 21 who is sitting in the front passenger’s seat, or the teen is traveling to work.
- Teens that are 17-years-old can only driver between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m., unless accompanied by a licensed driver over 21 who is sitting in the front passenger’s seat, or the teen is traveling to work.
If you require additional information on where to obtain a driver’s license, we advise contacting your local DMV office to find your nearest facility.
The NHTSA recommends that parents set driving standards for young drivers. Parents or guardians should specify the consequences of breaking the rules. Here is a list of suggested rules:
- The driver and passengers must wear seat belts at all times.
- The young driver is forbidden to drink and drive; besides it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to consume alcoholic beverages.
- No talking or texting on a mobile phone while driving.
- Set a time when the teen driver must have the vehicle home.
- Limit the number of passengers that can ride in the car.
Our attorneys advise all parents to remind your teenager that the Florida state driving laws are only meant to keep them safe.
Contact Our Florida car accident lawyers
If your teenager has been injured in a car accident , he/she may be eligible to file a lawsuit seeking compensation for medical expenses and property damage. Contact an experienced lawyer to explore your legal options. The personal injury lawyer s at Gordon & Partners have litigated numerous auto accident cases.
Gordon & Partners has office locations in Pembroke Pines, Palm Beach Gardens and Stuart. The law firm offer free case reviews to the public.
A few additional South Florida locations we serve include:
- Gulf Stream
- Ocean Ridge
- Lake Clarke Shores
To obtain more information about how our lawyers can help you in your time of need, or to schedule a free no-obligation case review, we encourage you to contact our firm at 1 (855) 722-2552 and speak with a member of our intake team. Here, we will gather the information about your case, then quickly refer you to one of our helpful attorneys ready to take your specific case.
Fore more information, complete the "Free Case Review" form on this page - It's That Easy!